Class 11 Biology Structural Organisation In Animals Muscle Tissue

Muscle Tissue

  • Each muscle is made of many long, cylindrical fibres arranged in parallel arrays.
  • Fibres are composed of numerous fine fibrils, called
  • Muscles are of three types
  • Skeletal
  • Smooth
  • Cardiac

Skeletal muscle

  • Skeletal muscle tissue is closely attached to skeletal bones.
  • A sheath of tough connective tissue encloses several bundles of muscle fibres.
  • Skeletal muscle fibres are bundled together in a parallel fashion in biceps.

Smooth muscle

  • The smooth muscle fibres taper at both ends (fusiform) and do not show striations.
  • The wall of internal organs such as the blood vessels, stomach contains smooth muscle tissue.
  • Smooth muscles are ‘involuntary’ as their functioning cannot be directly controlled.

Cardiac muscle

  • Cardiac muscle tissue is a contractile tissue present only in the heart.
  • Cell junctions fuse the plasma membranes of cardiac muscle cells and make them stick together.


Fig. Different types of muscles

Share these Notes with your friends  

< Prev Next >

You can check our 5-step learning process