Class 9 Biology Diversity In Living Organisms The Hierarchy of Classification-Groups

The Hierarchy of Classification-Groups

Ernst Haeckel (1894), Robert Whittaker (1959) and Carl Woese (1977) classified the organisms into wider classes called kingdoms.

Robert Whittaker used the following points to categorize the organisms:

  • Cell structure
  • Body organization
  • Mode and source of nutrition

All living organisms were broadly categorized into following 5 categories called kingdoms:

  • Monera
  • Protista
  • Fungi,
  • Plantae
  • Animalia

The structure of a kingdom is as follows:

Share these Notes with your friends  

< Prev Next >

You can check our 5-step learning process